Mixed feelings on Bayo’s “What’s Your Mix?” ad

Today on my way to work, I heard the fuss about Bayo’s new ad campaign on Magic’s equally controversial morning show Good Times. I immediately went online and surfed for the ad they were talking about and Google led me to Rappler’s site and here’s the copy of the said ad with Jasmine Curtis-Smith:

Comments from the internet and social networks described it as ‘racist.’ Also included in the campaign set are the ad copies that say “40% British and 60% Filipino” with Margo Midwinter striking a pose. The rest of the ads are now viral.

Personally, I found the ad really interesting. The advertising agency who conceptualized this (or Bayo itself) was creative enough to get the attention of the potential market for their clothing line because Filipinos with so-called ‘mixed blood’ are now gaining massive popularity in talent shows and other fields worldwide. (Hello to Charice and Jessica. Good luck Manny!)

On the other hand, I felt irked by the supporting statement of the ad that goes:
Call it biased, but the mixing and matching of different nationalities with Filipino blood is almost a sure formula for someone beautiful and world class.”

Can we not be ‘pure-blooded’ Filipinos in order to be considered beautiful and world class? I may be looking at the ad copy in a different point of view, but this also received a lot of criticisms from netizens. Having a mix of nationalities is not the sole formula to become successful or globally recognized.

I can’t seem to ‘mix and match’ my opinion on this. But one thing is for sure, I’m back to blogging, and I hope to enjoy the new mix of my ideas on pop culture.

PS. This is Earl P. Tongol, 100% Filipino.

2 thoughts on “Mixed feelings on Bayo’s “What’s Your Mix?” ad

  1. You have a point Mester, but I think the ad per se is misleading and it needs that long explanation to go with it for you to understand its meaning. Anyway, it caught a lot of people’s attention and that makes it effective.

Leave a Reply

