Techie vamps and timeless diaries

I am taking a break from my “Vampire Diaries” marathon while writing this. I have decided to devote my weekend finishing season one of this TV series; and after tweeting much about this show for a week now, I just realized I’m addicted to it!

Other vampire shows didn’t catch my attention over the past year of the “Twilight” madness. On the other hand, “The Vampire Diaries” piqued my curiosity as if I allowed the bloodsucking stars enter my home, look into my eyes and lure me into finishing all the episodes. Unexpectedly, the series did not end up boring. Its love triangle twist is totally far from the Edward-Bella-Jacob thing.

In this American television series, Elena (Nina Dobrev) falls in love with the mysterious-new-guy-in-school named Stefan (Paul Wesley) who turns out to be a 162-year-old vampire. Their relationship is challenged by Stefan’s vengeful brother, Damon (Ian Somerhalder) which complicates the story. Suspense, action, drama and mystery are packed in one show. This “Dawson’s Creek-meets-Buffy” kind of series from CW Television Network also introduces witches and more vampires as the story progresses.

What got me even more stuck in watching this show is its very realistic location. Set in a modern-day community, scenes are shot in semi-eerie, romantic and mysterious areas in British Columbia and Georgia that perfectly represent the fictional town of Mystic Falls. Add the songs of Mat Kearney, One Republic, The Fray and Sara Bareilles and you get entertaining MTV-quality scenes.

What if vamps really live among us? It is very interesting to watch vampires use mobile phones and enjoy a bit of booze. Aside from that, every episode starts with a narration by Elena as she reads excerpts from her diary. Other characters, like Stefan himself, keep a diary. It just shows how timeless personal chronicles are, even in this age of emails and blogs. Nothing beats a good old leather-bound notebook where you can document daily musings. For me, I guess I’ll just consider this six-year-old blog as my virtual diary.

Now back to watching a few more episodes.

Leave a Reply

