Network Wars

Whenever I switch on the TV, I do not actually watch certain shows. I simply scan channels as if I am waiting for a jackpot combination on a slot machine until I reach interesting programs ranging from TLC’s Invite Mr. Wright to NatGeo’s Great Migrations. Sometimes, I still watch local news on primetime and some bits of showbiz scoops from DJ-turned-chismoso, Mo Twister. But most of the time I think I’m making the cable company richer every single day I do not watch cable channels.

I must admit, when I was in grade school, one of the biggest debates were those which tackle network wars;  the never-ending comparison between ABS-CBN 2 and GMA 7 that still exists today. During coffee breaks, I still find myself in a raging debate with my officemates on which television network is the best. If only the Lopezes and Atty. Gozun have seen our outpour of emotions defending our side, they would probably laugh.

Endless battles on ratings by AGB Nielsen, TV personalities that come and go, noontime shows wanting to be on top, and primetime slots are still the major topics in the “Kapuso” vs “Kapamilya” war. Personally, I have my “heart” on GMA 7.

I lot of my childhood friends would probably remember that I am for Channel 7, and that never changed. Of course, anything I say would spark a lot of remarks. In my point of view, GMA is more credible when it comes to delivering news. I find ABS-CBN anchors a bit loud and biased. Also, I’m not a fan of drama series and I believe the Kapuso network is on the right track when it comes to producing shows which portray fantasy, opulence and high standard of living instead of intense drama and lives of the less privileged.

In the book of Ateneo Graduate School of Business entitled “The Blue Way: Case Studies on Leadership, Strategy and Ethics,” the case study “GMA Network Incorporated, Winning the Network Wars” further convinced me that the said network is close to their vision of becoming the ‘most respected, undisputed leader in Philippine broadcast industry and the recognized media innovator and pacesetter in Asia.’  B-H-A-G!

I stumbled upon a funny link while writing this blog:
http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Philippine_Network_War.

Whether Kapuso or Kapamilya, people should look out for MVP’s revamped TV 5. Remember, great competitors won’t stop ‘til they reach number one.

2 thoughts on “Network Wars

  1. I need to agree with GMA having more credibility when it comes to news and this is not to discredit the other channel’s credibility (I’m saying this though I once was a part of the other channel’s team). The range of issues tackled by GMA seems wider and its programs offer deeper, more people-oriented analysis.

    On some areas (like television series), I’m more inclined to watch on ABS-CBN. In my opinion, more than good one-liners, I see how good their actors and actresses are.

    Neither I am a Kapamilya nor a Kapuso, not even close to become a solid Kapatid. With the recent trends in television viewing, the war has become multi-polar/three-way as TV 5 enters the battlefield. TV 5 feels new, refreshing and has the potential to revolutionise network patronage and programming.

    Nice post, btw! 🙂

    • thanks! 😉 well, it’s good that you go with “serbisyong totoo, walang kinikilingan, walang pinoprotektahan.” haha!.
      i think TV5 will keep on surprising us.

Leave a Reply

