Recycled Resolution Tested

This year, I included PATIENCE as one of the virtues I want to cultivate. “I’ll be more patient this year,” I told myself while waiting for the clock to strike 12 on New Year’s Eve 2009. I thought it would be easy, but it turned out that 2010 doesn’t want to help me achieve this goal smoothly. Recent events tested this recycled resolution of mine.

Phone calls

Every time I pick up the phone, I take a deep breath and smile before I say my greetings. If I don’t do this, I’ll end up furious, especially when I pick up a ringing phone just to answer the question: “Hello, pwede pong magtanong?” It is as if they can take ‘no’ for an answer.

Queues

The ‘advantage’ card doesn’t give you an advantage at all. I hate it when you only buy one item (for example, a facial wash) and you have to wait for the one in front of you (who bought every single item on sale in the department store).

MBA

I took two subjects this time and so my Mondays and Wednesdays are blocked. Although the subject combination for this term is quite manageable, I tend to miss sleeping early during weekdays. Well, since I really want to get that that diploma with Athenaei Manilani Curatores inscribed on it, then I’ll have to deal with this.

Traffic

The newly-installed traffic lights in the city’s choke points already became part of my daily exam for patience. That red light surely knows how to irritate drivers.

Elections

I am very much excited about the upcoming elections. I’m sure the proclamation of a new President would put an end to the “Naligo ka na ba sa dagat ng basura” Last Song Syndrome.

It’s day 17 of 2010 and more tests of patience are expected to come my way.

Leave a Reply

