Ngiti

It pays to help.

img_14871As a culminating activity for our Managerial Accounting class, our batch decided to go to the Gawad Kalinga site in Gabaldon, Nueva Ecija and treat the kids (especially the birthday celebrants) with a party they’ll never forget. It was at the crack of dawn on March 8 when my classmates and I met at the Ateneo Campus in Clark to prepare for our (as Oprah says it) “Big Give.” We packed everything – spaghetti, burgers, a huge cake, hotdogs and drinks.

After several stopovers, we reached the GK site. The donors were successful in building a cozy community situated between lush mountains. We all took deep breaths of fresh air and appreciated the beauty of the surroundings before we got down to business.

img_1556We quickly arranged the ‘party’ area under a big tree (which served as the shade.) Our very energetic classmate, Mon, hosted the program. Everyone had fun during the games. We also gave away some school supplies and handed over several shovels (for a sustainable livelihood development).

The most touching part for me is when I rendered a song number. As I sang the lines of Ronnie Liang’s “Ngiti” (Smile), I felt so happy because I really saw genuine smiles beaming from the faces of the children whom we helped. They even sang several lines with me. I am pleased to have touched the lives of people in such a simple way and I know my classmates felt the same.

We at the Ateneo Graduate School of Business believe in our motto that “Our Country is Our Business.” Bawat Atenista, Bayani! I condemn the words of Tracy Isabel Borres  who blogged negatively about her immersion experience with Aetas. Anyway, she admitted she was just some spoiled sheltered girl. The issue about the lady Atenean already vanished yet I am personally aggravated by her words. Hers are not that of a genuine Atenista who fully understand what the Ignatian teachings are all about.

Leave a Reply

