The Man Who Can’t Be Moved (by Twilight)

edwardandbellaThe title of the bittersweet song of “The Script” describes my feelings toward the movie “TWILIGHT.” Too bad Stephenie Meyer wasn’t able to catch my attention because of my demanding office work schedule. Aside from not being able to grab a copy of the book, I haven’t read the complete “e-book” series saved in my hard drive. The tandem of Bella and Edward didn’t hit the hopeless romantic in me. When friends told me about the story, I decided not to join the bandwagon. I’ve had enough of creepy vampire stories courtesy of Anne Rice.

This is not practically about the bestseller. Maybe I have come to that stage in life where I cannot find time to read the latest young adult releases. The least I can do is watch the movie based from the novel.

The movie is led by Harry Potter’s Cedric Diggory (Robert Pattinson) and Kristen Stewart. Classified as a romantic fantasy, the film had a balance between the fierce vampire story and the sweet forbidden love that evolves around the main characters. During the course of the movie, I was bothered by the exaggerated white make-up used to emphasize the ‘vampness’ the Cullen family plus the nomadic vampires.

I found the film adaptation a little bit slow-paced. On the brighter side, I get a rush of excitement whenever I see the Philippine flag (during school cafeteria scenes). The cinematography was superb and all the scenic views were carefully picked (and digitally-enhanced). The actors and actresses were only as good as those in American TV dramas (enough to please the young audiences). I wasn’t pleased by the gross climax (with shattering mirrors and spurting blood). Overall, I’ll give the movie a 2 ½ out of 5 stars.

After I finish the book I am currently reading (Tom Dolby’s ‘The Trouble Boy’), I’ll find time to read New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn. By the time I finished reading Meyer’s works, I think I’ll be able to appreciate ‘Twilight.’

*On a lighter note, the Twilight dolls are cute.

2 thoughts on “The Man Who Can’t Be Moved (by Twilight)

  1. ponky..:) im so proud of you..didn’t know you have a website long time ago na pala..haha..well i am now one of the addicted fans of twilight saga..like harry potter i should say..it is very nice book..im sure you will also appreciate it..when you read all of them like you said..just want to say i miss you..and keep up posting your blogs..:) takecare..mwaahh..

    • yep. ‘Twilight’ is really interesting. & yes, I started blogging a long time ago, and i really appreciate the fact that there are people who are actually reading (& reacting on) my posts. Thanks! stay inspired (by Twilight) and take care! I hope we’ll see each other again. We miss you here in Pinas!

Leave a Reply

