Neckties

When I was a kid, I didn’t worry about wearing neckties. During my pre-school days, I had a ‘ready-to-wear’ necktie with a plastic holder and all I have to do is put it on my shirt. Eventually, I had to tie a necktie with the help of my dad when I was in fifth grade. I always asked the assistance of my dad (sometimes even my mom) whenever I had to tie a necktie until my senior year in high school.

In college, I had to attend formal gatherings (almost every girl was celebrating her debut throughout my four years in Manila) and I had to learn the complicated way of tying a necktie. Thanks to www.tieanecktie.com I was able to successfully put on a necktie every time I attend parties.

I had to master the art of tying a necktie since I am working in a corporate environment. After four months of tying a necktie six times a week, I believe I was able to acquire an ample amount of skill and technique. Although I tie the ‘Windsor Knot’ every morning, no knot is perfectly the same every time I do it.

When I opened my cabinet last Monday, I realized that I had a ton of neckties already – having all sorts of colors, designs and sizes. I bought a fancy necktie that is only an inch wide (Bench). I love the neckties my mom bought from Tieline. Some were from Marks and Spencer and the rest have plain colors (by Armando Caruso). While tying a knot one morning, I just remembered some lines from a local comedy film re-run on cable TV. It was all about the connection between love and tying a necktie (it sounds very corny at first but the said lines convey the truth):

Ang pag-ibig ay parang pagsusuot ng necktie. Sa una, magkakabuhol-buhol ka kasi di mo pa alam ang gagawin. Kaya minsan, kailangan ulitin ang pagtali dito. Pero habang tumatagal, ay natututunan mo ang pasikotsikot sa pagtatali ng necktie mo. Parang sa pagibig, habang tumatagal, lalo kang tumatatag, tumatalino.

Tying a necktie is not as simple as it looks. Try it!

2 thoughts on “Neckties

  1. Tying a tie can be hard! I think we’ve all gone through it at some point or another. I’m a big fan, now, of ties; only after I realized that they are really one of the only things that help a guy add some contrast to what he’s wearing with a suit, etc.

  2. Pingback: Looking for something blue « Planet Earl

Leave a Reply

