Waiting for Love

After watching a few episodes of the American drama What About Brian, I can officially say that I am hooked. It took me sometime before I discovered this TV series aired every Tuesday at Star World. The show’s main character is Brian portrayed by Barry Watson whom I looked up to as Matt Camden in another series I love to watch – 7th Heaven.

The story revolves around 32-year-old Brian Davis who remains the only single guy in his group of friends. Although the setting is Los Angeles, any single guy from any part the world in mid-20’s or 30’s could easily put himself in the shoes of Brian. Typical love angle twists occur sporadically throughout an episode but what makes these twists unique is the sense of humor involved.

In terms of acting, Barry Watson improved a lot since his appearance in 7th Heaven. His realistic impression of his character adds to the convincing approach of the story. “Couple” problems are also tackled in most of the episodes. Among the two couples who are both friends of Brian, my favorite would be Dave (Rick Gomez) and Deena (Amanda Detmer).

One of the best episodes would be the time when Dave and Deena, after 13 years of marriage, encounters couple dilemma that lead to cheating. On the other hand, after marriage counseling and a dramatic scene during a wedding banquet, everything went well. At this point, I am excited about the future of newlyweds Adam Hillman (Matthew Davis) and Marjorie Seaver (Sarah Lancaster). Brian, on the other hand, survives the life of a bachelor despite the fact that everyone around him is happily engaged (much like myself).

In the US, What About Brian ended last March, 2007 yet I am patient to watch the coming episodes in local cable for the sake of brightening up my Tuesday television viewing. Like Brian, I think I’ll enjoy my friends’ love stories and in time, I’ll tell my own.

Leave a Reply

