Lessons of Truth Part II

At last, UST has a statement regarding the ZTE Broadband scandal. The statement is the star witness himself, Rodolfo “Jun” Lozada, who is a Thomasian.

I never had the time to write a follow-up on the blog I made (Lessons of Truth) right away because of the busy schedule in school but I was happy to know that some reacted to what I have written (one of them was a person I admire, Manuel Quezon III). Last February 22, I joined the Rally for Truth headed by the UST Central Student Council. Together with my friends from the college publication and the glee club, we marched towards the Arch of the Centuries and lighted candles for ‘Truth.’ After which, at 6pm, we went out to the Espana Street and joined the students holding the banner “Bumusina para sa Katotohanan.”

Student fervor was so intense that I did not notice that wax of the candle I was holding was dripping all over my right hand. We shouted and asked drivers passing along UST to honk and make noise. We were many and came from various colleges, but we were united by the call for ‘Veritas.’

After an hour, I felt happy. In a small way, I voiced out my concern on a national issue. The breed of corrupt officials should be exterminated. Although a new People Power is not an advisable solution, the closest thing we can do is continue what Jun Lozada has started, and that is the fight against greedy, corrupt and evil men and women in the government.

Let us not allow these people to run a country full of talented individuals. Slowly we are losing the Philippines. But it is not too late. Let us remind ourselves of the song that inspired us after the historical EDSA I – “Katotohanan, kalayaan, katarungan, ay kayang makamit ng walang dahas, basta’t magkaisa tayong lahat.”

May oras din kayo… May oras din tayo!

And from the favorite shirt of Jun Lozada:
We are UST…
United in the
Search for
Truth.

For photos, see UST for Truth album at http://eal1987.multiply.com

Leave a Reply

