Greater Scheme of Things

This is not just a ‘How-to’ book or a ‘Dr. Phil guide on self-improvement.’

Scanning through the contents of Paulo Coelho’s The Pilgrimage will make you think that this book is for the psychologically-stressed, over-sentimental readers who are in need of another tear-jerker from the author of The Alchemist. This is half-true. Paulo’s travel to Santiago de Compostella wasn’t that boring after all. In fact, I finished reading the whole book during my stay in Boracay.

The style of writing is in the form of a journal, somewhat like a ‘Dear Diary’ version of an adventure. Its opening page has a map which has been very useful for me. In search for his goal (which is a sword – a symbol of ultimate happiness), he passes through the difficult pilgrimage path called the Road to San Tiago. Historically updated and well-written, Paulo was successful in putting his striking quotations throughout the book. The last line was unforgettable:

“I guess it is always true that people always arrive at the right moment at the place where someone awaits them.”

While reading the book, I felt the difficult tasks that a pilgrim has to do in order to attain spiritual happiness. We are all pilgrims. The book explains 11 so-called ‘exercises’ that would help our spirit find its way toward its ultimate goal. I remember the song entitled ‘Pilgrim’s Theme’ sung by Bukas Palad Ministry with the chorus that goes – “I think I’ll follow the voice that calls within, dance to the silent song it sings, I hope to find my place so my life can fall in place, I know in time I’ll find my place in the greater scheme of things.”

Thank you:
Brix, for the wonderful book.
TJ, for letting me hear ‘Pilgrim’s Theme’ for the first time using your iPod.

Leave a Reply

