An Epic Ends

The last enemy that shall be destroyed is death.

At 12:20pm of July 22, I finished reading the last installment of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. I never thought the book would gain so much popularity when I first bought a paperback ‘The Sorcerer’s Stone’ when I was in high school. A few hours after the sensationalized book release, I swam through the pages and met familiar and unfamaliar witches and wizards once again. Rumor has it that Harry would die in this book, as the prophecy said in previous installments: ‘Neither can live while the other survives.’

Alright, let me spill some beans. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is somewhat a ‘reunion’ book. Almost all the characters from Year I (ghosts, unpopular students, even dead people) are all here. Just when you thought Dumbledore was dead (he is, actually), he’s here again. Most of the pages were filled with historical accounts and answers to intriguing questions that bothered you since Potter survived the Dark Lord’s murder. Of course, Harry is still with his best friends Ron and Hermione. But now, Harry has already come of age (17 is the wizarding community) and he can now use magic without being summoned by the ministry.

The last book has darker scenes that before. Chapter after chapter, somebody dies. I personally found the whole book thrilling while imagining it as a motion picture. Here’s the catch: the ‘Boy-Who-Lived’ lives on. An epilogue entitled ‘Nineteen Years After’ was the icing on the ‘pentology.’ In here, Harry is bolder, Hermione is smarter, and Ron is wiser. For me, it was an 8 out of 10 for Rowling’s closure of the series that had me anticipating every year.

I wish the movie-maker good luck in transforming this wonderful epic into a motion picture. By the way, I loved Yates’ ‘The Order of the Phoenix,’ although less talk would be better.

Farewell to Hogwarts – to Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin. I will miss the Quidditch excitement, also, the Professors at Hogwarts. And most of all, Ron, Hermione, and Mr. Harry Potter. (Now I sound like a fanatic).

Leave a Reply

