Codes

Dan Brown has levitated me to heights of excitement.

Right after closing the book “Angels and Demons,” I saw myself sitting alongside volumes of Encyclopedia Britannica. I was taking down notes… on Michaelangelo, Raphael, Bernini… immersing myself into Art. I observed that my taste for fiction has shifted from imaginary, funny and unbelievable stories to real, serious and factual forms of literary bestsellers; I blame Dan Brown (Author – Deception Point, Digital Fortress, Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons) for that! Code after code, I ran with Robert Langdon as he cracked the mystery of the Illuminati. Personally, this is far better than ‘The Da Vinci Code’ but for critics, Brown’s works are not as good as one book I recently bought – “The Rule of Four” – ‘A Da Vinci Code for people with brains’ as London Independent describes it.

Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason, authors of ‘The Rule of Four’ were successful in sharing the revealing issues about the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili (I couldn’t pronounce it well). Though again, fictional, the Hypnerotomacia is real (an ancient Renaissance text unsolved for centuries). After tagging along with the characters’ adventures at Princeton University, the ending is actually a self-discovery. It is not a puzzle that was solved after finishing over 400 pages of bits and pieces. After unraveling clues per chapter, things became clearer not just for the story, but for yourself as well.

Later on, I’ll leave these headache-causing books. But wait, somebody (Dr. Carlos) suggested that I should try reading Tom Clancy’s works, and I can’t wait to grab one. O-oh, too many books for just two eyes!

Leave a Reply

