Coffee and This Week

Am I drinking too much?

Coffee and StudyCoffee has always been part of my mornings. May it be brewed or the ones in instant 3-in-one packs, a cup of coffee will complete my daily ritual; sometimes, even at night, whenever I need to stay up late in order to memorize a whole Phylum of invertebrates for the next day’s exams. Thanks to coffee, I have stayed more awake than ever during classes. My observation is that whenever I skip drinking coffee, I get sleepy right away.

This coffee obsession of mine has brought me to the finest [Starbucks, Gloria Jean’s and Seattle’s Best] coffee shops and other not-so-popular ones scattered around the streets of the university or the neighborhood [Coffee Indulgence, Café Dapits and Coffee Overdose] There’s no point of comparison because all of them have their own style of serving coffee lovers like me. It’s just enticing to hear “One Mocha Frappuccino for sir Earl!” at the Starbucks counter, or to see Gloria Jean’s’ waitresses smile at you, or to hear Seattles Best’s smooth selection of songs in their piped-in music.

I really accomplish a lot of things over a cup of coffee even just here in my room. In fact, this week full of Chemistry assignments, Zoology quizzes and the overflowing reading tasks in Philosophy of Science passed swiftly for me (I don’t know how…) Moreover, flipping through the pages of a newspaper or just scribbling essays and poems become more invigorating while sipping a cup of a Hazelnut-flavored instant coffee I recently discovered.

Does coffee have a bad effect on me? Well, I visited the website of Harvard Medical School and here’s what I’ve found: http://www.health.harvard.edu/press_releases/coffee_health_risk.htm

[click link!] Coffee is not bad after all.

Telenovela-like This week’s flashback: In our Social Dance class, our group got the highest grade [97]. Yipee! I was informed by Ate Kitz of our college journal that I have been accepted to be part of the News team of the CSJ. Wow! Last Tuesday, me and a few of my blockmates went to Gateway Mall and had our group picture taken. The future: I won’t go home to my hometown this weekend. I’m going to stay and attend a debut party, a seminar, and a heart-to-heart talk with my books.

Leave a Reply

