Spur of Songs, Stress and Sin

There is no concrete reason why there is a thing called ‘last song syndrome’ or LSS wherein you can’t help but sing the lines of the latest song you heard over and over again for the whole day and lasts even for an entire week. It’s sporadic. It’s even contagious. Beware.

But it’s just the price I pay, destiny is calling me,
open up my eager eyes, because I’m Mr. Brightside.
– Mr. Brightside by The Killers

Perhaps the most fascinating things I have ever done this week were: memorize how protozoans look like, learn how to make a Dichotomous key, and survive the heat of the Chemistry Lab. New professors, new ways of teaching, and new jobs to accomplish – these has taken over my life for this whole week. I always tell myself to get used to it (the stress). I must always look at the cooler part of hardwork and determination, and be Mr. Brightside.

We’re just ordinary people, we don’t know which way to go
because we’re ordinary people, maybe we should take it slow.
– Ordinary People by John Legend

Fast-paced college life has taken almost 24 hours of my every day breathing. Not to mention 7pm night meetings with my org (…enjoying it) and of course, the non-stop reproduction of assignments and research, all in full bloom! I understand that I should have gotten used to this stressful days, it’s just that I feel so bad about being tired and tortured (who wouldn’t be if you have to use the library staircase several times to go to the fifth level, then to the second, then down, up, down, wheeeew!) I’m human. I get tired. I’m just one of the ordinary people. That’s why I slowed down for a while.

Say the magic words and everything is fine again baby.
And you just touch me like I love and loving you feels new again…Oh yeah.
– Magic Words by Coco Lee

Is it “I love you?” Definitely not. For me, the magic words are “It’s time to take a break”… and have a KitKat (corny!) I was successful in looking for ‘fast breaks.’ After going through some reading assignments, I turned on the TV and watched the replay of the NBA Finals… congratualations SAN ANTONIO SPURS (81-74). After which I tuned in to my favorite soap, The O.C. And for the third time this month (it’s a good thing I’m not yet vomitting) nothing stopped me from watching my favorite French film ‘Merci Docteur Rey’ (oh, the laughs!)

É o fim do caminho
no rosto desgosto
– Aguas de Marco by Antonio Carlos Jobim

Manila Archbishop Jaime Cardinal Sin reached the end of his road. I watched this special called “Original Sin – Pari, Propeta at Pilipino” and I was mesmerized by his life, his accomplishments and his great impact on the lives of the Filipinos. This man of God is a good source of inspiration for the people, specially those in the vocation of priesthood (I almost ended up there…)

Even the best fall down sometimes
Even the wrong words seem to ryhme
– Collide by Howie Day

Thanks to my classmate (Moony) for encouraging me to join our college’s official publication. I will give it a shot, forget about my ego and accept whatever happens after the screening. Also, I am happy for my Senior High School adviser (Mrs. Lei Ibay) – congrats for the baby boy. As for me? Well, I have to face another week full of surprises, mostly in school. How I wish my thick books will sympathize with me.

Leave a Reply

